Upgrading from Windows 7 to 10

I’m very pleased to say that this has been a huge success, thanks to the wonderful team at Microsoft.  I spent two hours this week, doing the upgrade.  My new Desktop is almost identical to my previous Windows 7 one – wonderful!

desktopviewwp

You’ll be able to see a larger version of this (up to 1920px width) on my Flickr site …
https://flic.kr/p/GjZJ7g

My Photoshop Elements 11 and Lightroom 5 programs are still there. The only thing I’ve had to do so far, after upgrading to Windows 10, has been to set Google Chrome as my default browser & program opener. I’ve ended up with two shortcuts to the Google page, which I’ll reduce to one, and I will need to re-activate Google Drive. Much to my surprise, my wireless Epson printer worked without any problem at all !

So I can recommend upgrading to Windows 10, if your PC is up to it, and while the upgrade is free.

If you would like to personalize your Desktop by adding one of your photos, this is how you do so …  re-size the image  first of all to fit the dimensions of your Desktop, and then right-click on the image to set it as your background.

To set up a slide show for your Desktop background, right-click on the desktop > Personalize > click on the word “Picture” and select “Slide show” > Browse (lower down the webpage) > find and select the folder containing your images > select the speed of the slide show. Windows will do the rest. Brilliant!

P.S. If you prefer the Windows 7 layout for your Starter button and menu, have a look at 
“Classic Shell” … https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCnEhqmfZgc

2 thoughts on “Upgrading from Windows 7 to 10

  1. Well done, I upgraded my desktop pc and my notebook from Windows7 to Win10 shortly after Win 10 was launched.
    No serious issues, lots CCleaner and Spybot:Search and Destroy but was able to reinstall them both. The default audio changed from speakers to headphones and took a wee shunt to change back…. Other than that I am happy with the Upgrade to Win10. Adobe Elements 10 works fine on both PCs. Regards from a bleak cold winters Saturday afternoon in New Zealand. Woodstove going 🙂

  2. Hi Edt, good to hear from you, and to hear that your Win 10 upgrade went well. We’re having very changeable weather here, with heavy downpours and flooding at times, plus the dismal news that the UK public has just voted to leave the EU (voted to leave by a small margin). More financial turmoil ahead.

Leave a Reply

