Tidying & backing up my images

Hi everyone,

At the moment, I’m tidying and then backing up my photos. I usually do a back-up every two months or so, but I’m embarrassed to say that my last back-up was nearly two years ago.  I started using Lightroom 5 in July 2014, when I edited a large batch of photos I took while on holiday in Austria. I was very pleased with the results (and how fast I was able to do the work using LR).

So at present, I’m going through some older sets of photos from July 2013 to July 2014, re-editing them with LR, before I delete all my RAW images.  I’ll keep the JPG versions on both DVDs and external hard drives.

To show you another example of how good LR is, here’s a horse photo I took back in March 2014 on one of our walks with The Nottingham Wayfarers. I used Photoshop Elements to process this RAW image, and LR to do most of the editing for the photo just below it (using the same RAW image).

Before editing in Lightroom 5

Before editing in Lightroom 5

After editing in Lightroom 5

After editing in Lightroom 5

Leave a Reply

