Creating an infra-red look to your photos

In the past week, I attended a brilliant all-day workshop given by the photographer, Jeff Morgan, all about how he goes about taking photographs, including background research he does before he goes out on a landscape photo-shoot, and all the gadgets he uses. As regards the latter, the most remarkable was his CamRanger wi-fi device, which gives him complete remote control of his camera from an Android or Apple tablet – amazing.

Anyway, on Jeff’s website, I found a lovely infra-red photo, which I thought I would have a go at simulating in Lightroom 

http://www.elmstudio.com/gallery/p1/pa/12.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6_8AQaNhzs (this video is by Gavin Hoey)

Below are my first two attempts at producing infra-red look-a-likes using Lightroom. After I’d created my first one, I set up a pre-set in LR, so I could speedily create the second one. Here’s a video by Anthony Morganti on how to set up pre-sets in LR …    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_81OrYkDsk

Woodland walk with the Nottingham Wayfarers - June 2014

Woodland walk with the Nottingham Wayfarers – June 2014

Walk through a buttercup meadow with The Nottingham Wayfarers - June 2014

Walk through a buttercup meadow with The Nottingham Wayfarers – June 2014

Leave a Reply

