How to make a header for your Flickr site

My current Flickr header - Cromford Canal in Derbyshire

My current Flickr header – Cromford Canal in Derbyshire

Using the Crop tool in Photoshop Elements 11, I created a letter-box shape from my original image, and then reduced the width of the letter box down to 2048 pixels across. I then used the Crop tool to trim down the height of the letter box to 369 pixels.  You can make the height of the letter box as low as 300 pixels.

Ctrl + Alt + letter I … brings up the image size reduction menu (& shows you the current image size)

The total size of a Flickr header (as recommended by one of the Flickr staff members) is 2048 x 768 pixels .

In Photoshop,  I copied the canal image and pasted onto the centre of a plain dark background of the above dimensions, and then uploaded onto Flickr. I clicked on the “edit cover photo” icon on the right hand side of the existing header image, and imported my new header to this position. I left my header image left centrally placed – I didn’t move it up or down), and then pressed: “Save”.  I’ve found that you can delete your “mother” image afterwards, if you so wish, without this affecting your header.

The keyboard shortcuts (for Windows users) for editing are very easy;

Ctrl + letter A  … selects the entire image
Ctrl + letter C … copies it
Ctrl + letter V … pastes it, onto your background
Ctrl + letter E … will merge your two layers down to one layer (for saving as a jpg image)
Shift + Ctrl + letter S … brings up the Save As menu

Apple-Mac users use the Command key instead of Window’s Control key, I gather.

Post-script (July 2015) – I’ve found that Flickr now darkens my header image during uploading, which I don’t really like.
If you find the same thing happens to you, then you could lighten the image In Photoshop’s Levels, or choose a lighter image to upload.

If you’d like to see my latest Flickr header, click on the link below …
https://www.flickr.com/photos/14836724@N00/

SECOND POSTSCRIPT (AUGUST 2016) – I HAVE FOUND AN EASIER WAY OF MAKING A
HEADER, USING AN IMAGE REDUCED IN WIDTH TO 2048 PIXELS – SEE MY POST
DATED AUGUST 26 2016.

5 thoughts on “How to make a header for your Flickr site

    • Hi Jo,
      Have you read an update I’ve written on this blogsite, dated March 12 2017 ?
      If this information doesn’t help you. please would you give me more detail about the problem you’re having?
      For example, are you able to resize your desired header image down to 2048 pixels in width? Can you see a
      small white pencil over the existing header image when you move your mouse cursor over the right hand upper
      corner of the header image – you have to click on the white pencil to get up a gallery of images already on
      Flickr, from which you can select your header image.
      Cheers,
      Joel

Leave a Reply

