Pixlr photo-editor for Desktops

Here is the link for downloading this software  (for Windows and Mac users) …

https://pixlr.com/desktop

I tried out Autodesk Pixlr yesterday –  the free and new downloadable version for Windows. Downloading it
was 
easy from the Pixlr website, with no crapware lurking on the website, I’m pleased to say.

On opening the Pixlr interface, it was easy to look through everything on the top and left hand side toolbars.

I used the usual image-opening shortcut: Ctrl + letter O, and quickly found one of my images. The image
which I had already processed in Lightroom 5 looked brilliantly clear – its width was 5616 px across.

Pixlr for Windows

Pixlr for Windows

(To enlarge this image, use the Control key and the plus key on your keyboard)

I then clicked on Fast > Resize, and reduced the width to 768 px which is the optimal size for my webpage.
I then saved the resized image … Shift + Ctrl + letter S  >  renamed the image by adding a letter “r” to the
image number  >  saved at maximum quality of 10.

The first image is one I produced using Pixlr, and the second image was produced using Photoshop
Elements 11 – hardly any difference between the two of them.

Reduced-sized image done using PIXLR

Reduced-sized image done using PIXLR

Reduced-sized image done using PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 11

Reduced-sized image created using PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 11

The text editor – adding text – was a joy to use, in comparison with Gimp. I found it easy to change the font
style and colour.

Using the Text editor in Pixlr for Desktops

Using the Text editor in Pixlr for Desktops

Using the “Double exposure” tool, you can select another image and plonk it on top of the one already
opened up on the interface. You can then resize (by dragging the corners inwards) and reposition the top
image, and then save the double image.

I also had a go at making a coloured background, with limited success, in that the only colours I managed
to achieve were umpteen Shades of Grey. 🙂

To do this, I opened up one of my reduced-sized images. The selected: Fast  >  Colour  >  maximum lightness
>  Apply. So now, I’ve made a white background. Then using the lightness slider, you can darken the white
to a shade of grey that you like  > Apply, and then save your work as above.

Making a grey background using Pixlr for Desktops

Making a grey background using Pixlr for Desktops

If you find a way of adding more colours to the white background, please let me know.

As you will see, there’s a lot more to explore and try out with Pixlr – I only used it a little yesterday.

I’ve set my camera to take RAW images only, which this free version of Pixlr will not open. As I’ve already
got Lightroom 5 and Photoshop Elements 11 on my PC, I won’t be using Pixlr any further, but I can
recommend it to people who would like a more basic and a free photo-editor. There is a paid-for version
of Pixlr for more advanced users, which has more advanced features on it, but I haven’t explored these.

Cheers,
Joel

2 thoughts on “Pixlr photo-editor for Desktops

  1. Interesting comparison between Pixlr and Elements 13. The tree looks greener and the sign in the foreground looks sharper in Elements in my opinion. Am still using Elements 10 here. From what I can deduce the updates to 13 are largely for mobile devices, so plan to stick with 10 for the moment.

Leave a Reply

