Update

I recently joined one of Nottingham’s photographic societies, the NNPS, and was given a very warm
welcome. One of my friends has been a member for a good number of years and recommended we
should see its summer photographic exhibition, which was excellent. You will see on the website
that it’s got an interesting programme of talks, interspersed with competition evenings for both
prints and digital images.

http://nnps.org/

For the first time ever, I entered the digital images competition and won second place in the
intermediate section for my Bamburgh Castle interior (which you can see in a recent post of mine).

One of the NNPS talks was on landscape photography, and was given by Fran Halsall, who is a
professional photographer living in Sheffield – check out her website …

http://fran-halsall.co.uk/

I was so impressed with her talk, with the quality of her images and all the “how to” information
she gave, that I bought a copy of her book: “Light and Shade”, which I’m currently reading. If you’re
interested in landscape photography, I recommend you get hold of a copy of it yourselves.

I admire the dedication of professional photographers like Fran, who work really unsocial hours and
spend several hours at a time waiting for the best lighting. Most of my recent photos taken on our
Nottingham Wayfarer walks were taken at the wrong time, around the middle of the day, when the
lighting has been fairly flat. So very few of them, if any at all, have the wow factor I’m looking for.

Some of our walks earlier in the year have ended in the “golden hour”, when the sun has been lower
in the sky, so I’m looking forward to the shorter days returning this coming winter. I think my best
photos in recent months were the ones I took when we were on holiday in Northumberland, taken
around sunset on the coast – see my Flickr album: “0814 Northumberland”.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/14836724@N00/sets/

I’m now using my wide-angle camera lens (the Canon 17- 40 mm f/2.4 USM lens) a lot more for
landscape and other photos – see my Yorkshire Sculpture Park and Grantham Canal Walk photos
on Flickr – and I’m feeling more at home using it.

Some time ago, I increased the size of the photos I’m putting onto Flickr – from 800 px to 1024 px in
width, to give viewers better quality images to look at (and to download if they so wish). By the way,
I’m very pleased to say that my all-time viewing figure on Flickr has reached 250,000.

4 thoughts on “Update

  1. Good to see you blog posting again. I check out your flickr albums regularly. Assuming flickr will play nice and display the thumbnails, for some strange reason it often wont. Please stick with wordpress as long as you can. It has a much nicer viewing interface than facebook. As you may see I am not a great fan of social media, facebook and twitter included, however I chat nightly on the internet with my Canadian and American chat friends.. Regards from a chilly wet spring day in NZ.

  2. Hi Edt, thanks for your comment & for encouraging me to keep going with WordPress. I agree with you that it looks better than the Flickr one. However, I’m put off somewhat by WP downsizing my pics. I will have another go with uploading one of my latest photos. Cheers, J.

    • Hi Edt … I’ve managed to sort out my photo-sizing problem. I had mistakenly chosen a smaller file size to
      display on the site – I hadn’t seen the options box at the side of the uploader, which was set at one of the
      smaller sizes (perhaps this is WordPress’ default setting, which it had re-set itself). Anyway, I’m feeling
      pleased and relieved to have sorted this one out. I’m posting a few pics today onto Flickr, which I took with
      my Canon G15 camera.

    • Hi Edt … I’ve managed to sort out my photo-sizing problem. I had mistakenly chosen a smaller file size to
      display on the site – I hadn’t seen the options box at the side of the uploader, which was set at one of the
      smaller sizes (perhaps this is WordPress’ default setting, which it had re-set itself). Anyway, I’m feeling
      pleased and relieved to have sorted this one out. I’m posting a few pics today onto Flickr, which I took with
      my Canon G15 camera.

Leave a Reply

