New Flickr – the Renaissance

Well, as most of you will know, the New Flickr appeared like a new dawn, just over a week ago.

I think that New Flickr is a mixed blessing. It’s brilliant in that we can now see a lot more of our photos (there is far less space between individual photos), but it’s bad in that we cannot easily see visitor numbers and comments below each photo … you have to click on a photo and scroll downwards to see how many people have looked at it, and to see if they’ve left any comments. There are other ways of doing both of these, which I’ll mention shortly.

Before New Flickr (BNF!), I was becoming obsessed with checking visitor numbers and comments at least once a day … getting my dopamine fix this way, so NF’s hiding away visitor numbers and comments will help cure me of this addiction. On the other hand, I think it will lessen online interaction between Flickr members.

Like many Flickr folk, I was a Flickr Pro member (BNF), which allowed me to upload more than 200 photos onto Flickr, and to create many sets of them. Now, as you will be aware, you can put up to one terabyte of photos onto Flickr free of charge. How many megabytes are there in a terabyte? The answer is 1,048,576 according to a Google search, I’ve just done.

As most of the photos I upload onto Flickr are around 250 KB in size, I reckon I’ve got space for over four million photos (if my maths is correct). Need I renew my subscription for the enhanced service in future? I think I will, so I can preserve my existing sets.

There’s a lot more info about the LEVELS OF SERVICE that New Flickr offers, on one of the Help pages … http://www.flickr.com/help/limits/

… and I’ve just read a good article in the New York Times about New Flickr, which is generally upbeat about it….

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/05/30/technology/personaltech/the-new-flickr-space-and-more-space-free.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

If you’d like to see what my New Flickr site looks like, click here …

http://www.flickr.com/photos/14836724@N00/

HOW TO CHANGE THE HEADER IMAGE & BUDDY ICON …

After signing in, I was able to change the header image and revamp my photo (aka buddy icon). For my new header image, I created a letterbox version of one of my Chatsworth photos, from its full resolution original, and reduced its width to 1280 pixels (which is the pixel width / resolution of my laptop screen). I then uploaded this onto Flickr, to be able to use this one as my header. If you move your mouse pointer over to the right hand edge of the existing header image, a little pop-up will appear … “Edit cover photo”, which you can click on and then select one of your photos from your most recent images. Once the new header image is in place, you can click on the photo and scroll it up and down with mouse wheel, to position it to your taste, before you press the “Save” button.

On the left hand side, you can now replace your buddy icon with a new one, if you so wish. Prepare a square image of yourself, 300 x 300px in size. Using the Crop tool in Gimp or Photoshop, you can set the height and width measurements to an identical number (eg 10), and then select a square area on a photo of yourself. After cropping the photo, you can then re-size it down to 300 pixels in width, and save it onto your computer. Now click on the existing buddy icon, and replace it with the new one.

HOW TO UPLOAD PHOTOS ONTO FLICKR …

I use the Upload button at the top of the Flickr screen, to upload my pics one by one into the Flickr uploading box. Doing it this way, enables me to upload my pics in a correct sequence (which is usually the exact order in which I took the photos). You can also change the sequence of your added images, by clicking on one and dragging it with your mouse to a new position. You then click on the blue uploading button to upload a batch of photos. I usually add some descriptive text just below a photo, after uploading it. You can hide a photo from public view by changing the privacy … see “Owner Settings” in the left hand margin. 

Next, have a look at the MENUS underlying the headings on the TOP BLACK TOOLBAR …

… for example, under “You”, you will find your Photostream, existing sets, how to organise your photos, and other things like your Favourites, and your Stats.

HOW TO FIND ABOUT YOUR MOST VISITED PHOTOS 

Go to “You”> “Stats” > scroll half-way down the page to “All photos and videos” > “show All Time”.
If you’ve got a large number of photos on Flickr, you will now see the first of many pages listing your photos in order of visitor popularity, starting with the most viewed photo of them all.

HOW TO FIND OUT IF THERE HAVE BEEN ANY RECENT COMMENTS  

Go to “You” > “Recent activity”… check out the comments that you and others have made.

HOW TO FIND THE LIST OF FLICKR GROUPS THAT YOU’VE JOINED …

Go to “Communities” > “Group list”

HOW TO DOWNLOAD A PHOTO

…click on one of my photos to enlarge it, do a right mouse click on the photo, choose a photo-size from the list “view all sizes”, & then select the download link, to download it onto your computer.

MORE ABOUT FLICKR

 If you click on a photo, and then click on the three-dots icon at the right hand bottom corner, you will see three options: View all sizes (> download), View slideshow and View exif information

flickricons

If you are already a Flickr member, you will see yet more options, after you’ve logged in … a host of editing options, including deleting the photo. 
(My thanks to Martin for letting me know about how to view slideshows … if you wish to view a slideshow of a set of photos, click on the first image in the set, and then click on the three dots > view slideshow).


Under “EXPLORE”, you will find info about using Getty Images, and Flickr blog, which is well worth looking at for inspirational ideas.


HOW TO FIND YOUR FLICKR ACCOUNT DETAILS …

…  wave your mouse pointer very near the top right hand corner of your Flickr page (after signing in first).
Your Flickr account section will appear in a drop-down menu, which you can then select.

More info about Flickr in its HELP section here … http://www.flickr.com/help/faq/


As yet, I haven’t found out how to DISABLE DOWNLOADING of your photos. Please let me know if you find out how to do so. I suspect that Flickr no longer provides this facility, which would put off people who use Getty to sell their images from using Flickr.  There is some discussion about this topic HERE.

HOW TO SAVE A FAVOURITE PHOTO ON FLICKR …

… when you’re browsing through someone else’s Flickr site / looking at photos in a Flickr group, you can save
a photo you like onto your own list of Favourites. Simply click on the star below the photo, in order to do so.
You will have to “sign in” into your own Flickr site, for this to work. To delete a favourite, click on the pink star below the photo.  I find this is a useful way of creating a list of my favourite Flickr sites, by saving at least one photo from a site I wish to re-visit in the future. 

Leave a Reply

