Updating Photoshop ACR for your new camera

You might find out that when you’ve bought a new camera such as my Canon G15, that you can’t open RAW images with the newest version of Adobe Photoshop Elements (which is PE 11). I found this very frustrating!

Well, help is at hand from Adobe itself …

http://helpx.adobe.com/creative-suite/kb/camera-raw-plug-supported-cameras.html

Adobe advises that you open up Photoshop, and then select “Help” > “Updates”.

I was invited to install and update both Adobe Application Manager and Photoshop Camera Raw 7.3 Update, which I did. The whole process took less than 5 minutes. A brilliant piece of work by Adobe.

Two things that need doing …

1. for camera manufacturers to agree to an international standard for all RAW images (as they did for JPEGs).

2. for Adobe to bring out a version of Photoshop Elements for Linux users. There is demand out there for this to be done. The main reason for my sticking with Windows rather than using my Linux computer all the time, is that I prefer to use Photoshop Elements rather than GIMP for my photography work (for processing RAW images in particular).

P.S. my new header photo of some Spring blossom, was taken in Barcelona last week, with my Canon G15 camera, hand-held. I didn’t sharpen the image in Photoshop, by the way.

2 thoughts on “Updating Photoshop ACR for your new camera

  1. I took my first RAW pic this afternoon in the Canon G12. Adobe Elements 10 with Camera RAW Version 6.7 opened it perfectly. Most interesting. Thank You for inspiring me to experiment.

  2. I’m very pleased to be of help … after all the help you’ve given me over the years, Martin.
    I’ve just uploaded dozens of photos onto Flickr of our trip to Barcelona, plus photos of a
    family get-together we went to, about 9 days ago. I used the RAW images a lot, for the
    latter, as I find it difficult to get the right exposure with flash, when taking very informal
    shots.

Leave a Reply

